Connecticut Pistol Permit Classes, Pistol Permit Class in CT, Handgun Permits for Connecticut, CT Pistol Permit Training

PISTOL PERMIT AND PERSONAL PROTECTION FIREARM TRAINING CLASSES IN CONNECTICUT

Connecticut Pistol Permit

Frequently Asked Questions - Pistol Permit and CCW Permits
Q:
How do I get a pistol permit (CCW) to carry a gun in the State of Connecticut?

A:
In order to get a State Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers you must first obtain a Local Permit. Out of state residents may apply for a non resident Connecticut State Pistol Permit. Non residents apply directly to the Connecticut State Police.  Call 860-685-8494 to have an application mailed out.

Q: How do I apply for a Local Pistol Permit (Temporary State Pistol Permit)?

You must go to the Police Department or First Selectman of the town and get the application. The application has all the instructions necessary to obtain the permit. The cost of the permit is $70.00, and it generally takes eight weeks to obtain. You can also download a copy of the application by Clicking Here DPS-799-C. Just be sure to find out if your local police department has any additional requirements or paperwork before class.

Q: What are the minimum firearms training course requirements for pistol permit applicants?

A:
You are required to complete an 8-hour handgun safety course, which must consist of no less than the NRA's "Basic Pistol Course," prior to submitting the application. The NRA's "Home Firearms Safety Course" and "First Steps Pistol Orientation Program" are not approved courses.

*** Live fire is also required.  Computer-generated programs, dry-fire, other simulated shooting tools, plastic bullets, air guns or any other alternatives are not acceptable.  Students must fire a semi-automatic pistol or revolver. The NRA’s Basic Pistol Course is a minimum 8-hour class.  Any questions should be referred to the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit at (860) 685-8290 ***

Q: Once I have received a Local Permit, how do I apply for a State Permit?

A: Instructions to applicants:

pdf_icon
Click Here DPS-769-C

New applicants must provide proof of citizenship, such as a birth certificate, voters registration card or U.S. Passport. Legal Alien Residents must provide Alien Registration numbers and 90-day proof of residency.  Naturalized citizens require proof of citizenship.

Q: How do I change my address on my Pistol Permit?

A:
You can either call (860) 685-8290, E-mail the information to DPS.Spec.Licensing@po.state.ct.us or mail a letter to the Department of Public Safety, Special Licensing and Firearms Unit, 1111 Country Club Rd., Middletown, CT. 06457. Change of address is required within 48 hours,  and the letter should include permit number, name, date of birth, old address, and new address.

Q: May I keep my Pistol Permit if I move out of state?
 
A:
Yes, providing you notify the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit of the change of address, and continue to renew your permit.

Q: How long is a Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers good for?

A:
The permit is valid for 5 years from date of issue unless revoked or suspended.

Laws Pertaining to Firearms

Click on the links below to see the Connecticut General State Statutes:

Sec. 29-32b. Board of Firearms Permit Examiners. Appeals to board. Hearings.

Sec. 2-1e. Interference with the legislative process; firearms; dangerous or deadly Weapons; explosive; felony.

Sec. 4-183. Appeal to Superior Court.

Sec. 4-184. Appeal from final judgment of Superior Court.

Sec. 29-17a. Criminal history records checks. Procedure. Fees.

Sec. 29-27. "Pistol" and "revolver" defined.

Sec. 29-28. Permit for sale at retail of pistol or revolver. Permit to carry pistol or revolver. Confidentiality of name and address of permit holder.

Sec. 29-28a. Application for permit. Notice of decision to applicant.

Sec. 29-29. Information concerning criminal records of applicants for permits.

Sec. 29-30. Fees for pistol and revolver permits.

Sec. 29-31. Display of permit to sell. Record of sales.

Sec. 29-32. Revocation of permit. Notification. Penalty for failure to surrender permit.

Sec. 29-32b. Board of Firearms Permit Examiners. Appeals to board. Hearings.

Sec. 29-33. Sale, delivery or transfer of pistols and revolvers.

Sec. 29-34. False statement or information in connection with sale or transfer of pistol or revolver prohibited. Sale or transfer to person under twenty-one years of age prohibited. Temporary transfers. Penalties.

Sec. 29-35. Carrying of pistol or revolver without permit prohibited. Exceptions.

Sec. 29-36. Altering or removing identification mark.

Sec. 29-36f. Eligibility certificate for pistol or revolver.

Sec. 29-36g. Application for eligibility certificate.

Sec. 29-36h. Fee for eligibility certificate. Expiration and renewal of eligibility certificate.

Sec. 29-36i. Revocation of eligibility certificate.

Sec. 29-36k. Transfer or surrender of pistols or revolver by person ineligible to possess same.

Sec. 29-36l. Verification of eligibility of persons to receive or possess firearms. State database. Instant criminal background check. Immunity of seller of transferor. Authorization number required.

Sec. 29-36n. Protocol concerning transfer or surrender of pistols and revolvers.

Sec. 29-37. Penalties.

Sec. 29-37a. Sale or delivery at retail of firearm other than pistol or revolver.

Sec. 29-37b. Retail dealer to equip pistols and revolvers with gun locking device and provide written warning at time of sale. Penalty.

Sec. 29-37e. False statement or information in connection with sale or transfer of firearm other than pistol or revolver prohibited.

Sec. 29-37f. Qualifications of retail store employees who sell firearms.

Sec. 29-37g. Gun show requirements.

Sec. 29-37i. Responsibilities re storage of loaded firearms with respect to minors.

Sec. 29-37j. Purchase of a firearm with intent to transfer it to a person prohibited from purchasing or possessing.

Sec. 29-38. Weapons in vehicles.

Sec. 29-38b. Determination of commitment status of person who applies for or seeks renewal or firearm permit or certificate. Report on status of application.

Sec. 29-38c. Seizure of firearms of person posing risk of imminent personal injury to self or others.

Sec. 29-38d. Interstate transportation of firearms through state.

Sec. 52-571f. Strict liability of person who illegally transfers a firearm.

Sec. 52-571g. Strict liability of person who fails to securely store a loaded firearm.

Sec. 53-203. Unlawful discharge of firearms.

Sec. 53-204. Hunting or discharging firearm from public highway.

Sec. 53-206 Carrying of dangerous weapons prohibited.

Sec. 53-206b. Unlawful training in use of firearms, explosive or incendiary devices or techniques capable of causing injury. Class C felony.

Sec. 53-206c. Sale, carrying and brandishing of facsimile firearms prohibited. Class B misdemeanor.

Sec. 53-206d. Carrying of firearm while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drug prohibited. Class B misdemeanor.

Sec. 53a-7. Effect of intoxication.

Sec. 53a-8. Criminal liability for acts of another.

Sec. 53a-212. Stealing a firearm. Class D felony.

Sec. 53a-217. Criminal possession of a firearm or electronic defense weapon: Class D felony.

Sec. 53a-217a. Criminally negligent storage of a firearm: Class D felony.

Sec. 53a-217b. Possession of a weapon on school grounds: Class D felony.

Sec. 53a-217c. Criminal possession of a pistol or revolver: Class D felony.

[Home] [Classes] [Calendar] [What to Expect] [Contact Us] [Licensing] [FAQ's]

2010 © JFM Associates